Gonzalez Hinz Zabala will build the Bauhaus Museum Dessau

The young Spanish architecture firm Gonzalez Hinz Zabala will build the Bauhaus Museum Dessau. This is the outcome of contract negotiations with the two first prize-winners Young & Ayata from New York/USA and Gonzalez Hinz Zabala from Barcelona/Spain which were announced in September 2015 as the result of an international, open architectural design competition.

Notably in order to give up-and-coming architectural firms a chance, the architectural design competition for the Bauhaus Museum Dessau (opening 2019) had been launched as an international open competition. The two-phase scheme received 831 entries and the jury awarded four winners, of which two first prizes, and three commendations.

The young Spanish firm Gonzalez Hinz Zabala will be commissioned by the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation (SBD) to build the new museum. The Spanish architects retained as their German partners Berlin-based construction management and supervision company BAL, widely experienced in museum projects, and Transsolar for energy planning.

The contract award completes a very intensive negotiation phase. Led by its director, Claudia Perren, the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation conducted negotiations with the two first prize-winners Young & Ayata, New York/USA, and Gonzales Hinz Zabala, Barcelona/Spain, and recommended to the SBD Board of Trustees to award the contract to Spanish architectural firm Gonzalez Hinz Zabala. The Board of Trustees unanimously followed the recommendation.

The negotiations were complemented by third-party expert opinions regarding plausibility of construction costs and a qualitative comparison of utilisation costs. The negotiation procedure also covered project organisation and methods for on-time project delivery and compliance with cost limits, sustainability of the draft design, optimisation of utilisation costs and fees.

Besides negotiations with the two first prize-winners, the Foundation also reviewed, notably as part of the external opinions, the competition entries submitted by Berrel Berrel Kräutler, Zurich/Switzerland (third prize), and Ja Architecture Studio, Toronto/Canada (fourth prize), to attain a better overview.

Claudia Perren, Director of the Bauhaus Dessau Foundation, deems the outcome of the negotiation procedure to be unambiguous, especially in the total view of structural engineering and architectural criteria. „The two first prize-winners could not have been more different in their architectural concept for the museum. It became clearly apparent during the negotiating phase that the design by the Spanish firm can be implemented within the construction budget of 25 million euros without impairing architectural quality and functionality.“

Stephan Dorgerloh, Minister for Education and Cultural Affairs of Saxony-Anhalt is pleased: „I am pleased that now a further decisive step has been taken on the way towards the Bauhaus Museum. The museum will provide another vital cultural establishment in Dessau-Rosslau that will open itself towards the city, act as an invitation, integrate the surrounding park and be a place for the Bauhaus to present itself and its treasures. The new museum shall become a building that will invite all visitors and inhabitants, not least through its transparent glass façade, to discover the Bauhaus for themselves, also in a museum context. The architectural design is fascinating with its lightness and transparency and reflects the architectural Bauhaus tradition. It will be a new gem in Dessau’s city centre.“

Mayor Peter Kuras is convinced by the plainness and straightness of the design. „The museum will become a new point of attraction in the city centre. I like it very much because its openness will invite people and bring much liveliness to the urban centre. I know that many inhabitants wished for the more colourful design by the New York-based architects. Its cost planning, however, would exceed the defined budget which we are set to keep at any rate. Now the municipality will support the Foundation with complete focus in the construction so that we will be able to inaugurate the new museum in 2019.“

The commissioning of the architectural firm Gonzalez Hinz Zabala will be followed by detailing the design until the application for construction permit.

The scheduled construction commencement date is 4 December 2016, the 90th anniversary of the Bauhaus in Dessau. Claudia Perren is looking forward to the new museum: „The Bauhaus in Dessau will receive a very unique and new quality with this museum designed by Gonzales Hinz Zabala, because theirs is an architecture whose design vocabulary follows Modernity and whose materiality and flexibility will be functioning very well as an exhibition venue.“

The young Spanish architecture firm Gonzalez Hinz Zabala will build the Bauhaus … mehr …

Gonzalez Hinz Zabala aus Barcelona baut das Bauhaus Museum Dessau

Das junge, spanische Büro Gonzales Hinz Zabala wird das Bauhaus Museum Dessau bauen. Dies ist das Ergebnis der Verhandlungsgespräche mit den zwei Erstplatzierten Young & Ayata aus New York/USA und Gonzalez Hinz Zabala aus Barcelona/Spanien, die im September 2015 aus dem internationalen, offenen Architekturwettbewerb hervorgegangen waren.

Gerade um jungen Büros eine Chance zu geben, wurde der Architekturwettbewerb zum Bauhaus Museum Dessau (Eröffnung 2019) international als offener Wettbewerb ausgeschrieben. Über zwei Phasen hat das Preisgericht aus den 831 Einreichungen vier Preisträger, davon zwei Erstplatzierungen, und drei Anerkennungen ausgesprochen.

Das junge spanische Büro Gonzalez Hinz Zabala hat als deutsches Kontaktbüro das erfahrene Berliner Büro BAL sowie für die energetische Planung die Firma Transsolar an seiner Seite.

Mit der Auftragsvergabe wird eine sehr intensive Verhandlungsphase abgeschlossen. Unter der Leitung der Direktorin Claudia Perren hat die Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau mit den zwei erstplatzierten Büros Young & Ayata aus New York/USA und Gonzalez Hinz Zabala aus Barcelona/Spanien die Verhandlungen geführt und sprach dem Stiftungsrat die Empfehlung für eine Vergabe an das spanische Büro Gonzalez Hinz Zabala aus. Der Stiftungsrat folgte dieser Empfehlung einstimmig.

Die Verhandlungen wurden begleitet von extern vergebenen Gutachten zur Plausibilität der Baukosten und zu einem qualitativen Vergleich der Nutzungskosten. Gegenstand des Verhandlungsverfahren waren unter anderem die Projektorganisation und Methoden zur Einhaltung von Terminen und Kostenobergrenzen, die Nachhaltigkeit des Entwurfes, Optimierung der Nutzungskosten und das Honorar.

Neben der Verhandlung mit beiden Erstplatzierten hat die Stiftung in den ergänzenden Betrachtungen, vor allem auch bei der externen Vergabe der Gutachten, die Einreichungen der Büros Berrel Berrel Kräutler aus Zürich/Schweiz (dritte Platzierung) und Ja Architecture Studio aus Toronto/Canada (Viertplatzierung) mit einbezogen, um ein besseres Gesamtbild zu erhalten.

Für Claudia Perren, Direktorin der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau, ist das Ergebnis des Verhandlungsverfahrens eindeutig, gerade in der Summe der baufachlichen aber auch architektonischen Kriterien. „Die zwei Erstplatzierungen konnten unterschiedlicher in ihrem architektonischen Konzept für das Museum nicht sein. Es zeigte sich in der Verhandlungsphase deutlich, dass der Entwurf der Spanier im Rahmen der Bausumme von 25 Mio Euro realisierbar ist ohne an architektonischer Qualität und Funktionalität zu verlieren.“

Kultusminister Stephan Dorgerloh, der als Vorsitzender des Stiftungsrates für die Vergabe an Gonzalez Hinz Zabala stimmte, freut sich über die Auftragsvergabe: „Ich freue mich, dass nun ein weiterer entscheidender Schritt auf dem Weg zum Bauhaus Museum gegangen wird. Mit dem Museum kann ein zusätzlicher lebendiger Kulturort in Dessau-Roßlau entstehen, der sich zur Stadt öffnet, sie einlädt, den Park einbezieht und an dem sich das Bauhaus mit seinen Schätzen präsentiert. Es soll ein Haus werden, das alle Besucher und Bürger nicht zuletzt durch seine transparente Glasfassade einlädt, das Bauhaus auch im musealen Kontext für sich zu entdecken. Der Entwurf fasziniert mit seiner Leichtigkeit und Durchlässigkeit und spiegelt die architektonische Bauhaustradition wider. Dessaus Innenstadt erhält ein neues Juwel.“

Oberbürgermeister Peter Kuras überzeugt die Schlichtheit und Gradlinigkeit des Entwurfes. „Das Museum wird in der Innenstadt ein neuer Anziehungspunkt werden. Mir gefällt es sehr gut, weil es mit seiner Offenheit die Menschen einlädt und viel Lebendigkeit in das Zentrum der Stadt bringt. Viele Bürger haben sich ja den bunteren Entwurf der New Yorker Architekten gewünscht. Dessen Kostenplanung aber lag außerhalb des definierten Budgets, das wir auf jeden Fall einhalten wollen. Die Stadt wird die Stiftung jetzt mit aller Konzentration beim Bauen unterstützen damit wir 2019 eröffnen können.“

Nach der Beauftragung des Büros Gonzalez Hinz Zabala ist der nächste Schritt die Vertiefung der Planung bis zum Bauantrag.

Als Stichtag für den Baubeginn ist der 4. Dezember 2016 geplant, der 90. Geburtstag des Bauhauses in Dessau. Claudia Perren freut sich auf das neue Museum: „Das Bauhaus in Dessau bekommt nochmals eine ganz eigene und neue Qualität mit dem Museum von Gonzales Hinz Zabala, denn es ist eine Architektur, die in ihrer Formensprache der Moderne folgt und in ihrer Materialität und Flexibilität als Ausstellungsort bestens funktionieren wird.“

Das junge, spanische Büro Gonzales Hinz Zabala wird das Bauhaus Museum Dessau … mehr …